Specialist trainees in Emergency Medicine, Anaesthesia, Intensive Care Medicine or Acute Medicine will be invited to apply for PHEM sub-specialty training. PHEM training programme places will be available through a national recruitment, and will consist of 12 months whole time equivalent training taken after the ST4 year.  The Board strongly supports blended training (mixing base specialty with PHEM training - scheme A) to reflect future working patterns and give trainees sufficient time to consolidate information. Many programmes therefore will last for 2 years, and trainees in this time will undertake the equivalent of 1yr PHEM and 1yr in their core specialty.

The 2015 ‘Guide to Training’ gives more details on what is involved in sub-specialty PHEM training. Download it from the Resources page.


Each training programme will have to assist trainees in covering all the elements of the curriculum. Not every region in the country will have a PHEM training programme and details on the current approved programmes available are below.

Training is divided into 3 phases -

1a     Initial                     1 month whole time equivalent            100% direct Consultant supervision

1b    Development         5 months whole time equivalent            20% minimum direct Consultant supervision

2      Consolidation        6 months whole time equivalent            20% minimum direct Consultant supervision

The Guide details which parts of the curriculum should usually be covered in each phase of training. The IBTPHEM currently provides a National Induction Course in phase 1 - a week long residential course covering elements of phase 1 around rescue, extrication, working on roads/water/collapsed buildings/railways/airplanes/confined spaces/at height along with some clinical skills.


Approved training programmes

  1. -HE East of England
    Training Programme Director - Simon Lewis
    Programme Information

  1. -HE Kent, Surrey, Sussex

Training Programme Director - Anthony Hudson

  1. -Programme Informattion

  1. -HE North East and Central London

   Training Programme Director - Tom Hurst
Programme Information

  1. -HE North East
    Training Programme Director - Dave Bramley

   Programme Information

- Scotland West

  Training Programme Director - Nicola Littlewood

  Programme Information


  1. -HE South West (Severn)
    Training Programme Director - Matt Thomas   Programme Information

  1. -HE Thames Valley

  Training Programme Director - Syed Masud

  Programme Information

  1. -Wales Deanery
    Training Programme Director - Ian Bowler

  Programme Information

  1. -HE West Midlands
    Training Programme Director - Caroline Leech
    Programme Information

  1. -HE Yorkshire & Humber
    Training Programme Director - Anil Hormis

  Programme Information

15th June 2016